Success – SW to Maya

Posted on March 10, 2007. Filed under: Uncategorized |


Finally I was able to see one of the SW models in Maya. Granted it has more polys than if you were to create the same shape in Maya alone, but I have never liked Maya’s positioning system. I’m not sure if that’s the correct terminology, but when you input sizes in Maya they are a decimal number that could represent anything. Now I can import models that are 3″ long (enormous on Maya) and scale them down and they will all be in correct proportion with each other.

The purpose of this was twofold. One for personal reasons as I model artwork and the other for the machining reasons.

The next step will be to see if I can get this to work with Mastercam and output the g-code. Because this fuselage from a tutorial works so well (not complex, but still has tapers and curves) I think I will continue to use it for the machining process learning curve.

(I’m getting to know some of the students in the lab I never had classes with, it’s pretty fun exchanging ideas and helping each other if we get stuck. I’m afraid they are helping me more than I’m helping them, good stuff though)

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

  • Blog Stats

    • 157 hits

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...